Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing

(404) 382-5659 www.olshanfoundation.com »

5826 Buford HighwayNorcross, GA 30071   map »

Business overview

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Barrow/Walton County
  • Bartow/Pickens County
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Carroll/Coweta County
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Clayton/Fayette County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Covington
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas/Paulding County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fayetteville
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Henry/Spalding County
  • Jonesboro
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • McDonough
  • Midtown
  • Newnan
  • Newton/Rockdale County
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stockbridge
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • Union City
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Services

  • Basement Repair
  • Basement Waterproofing
  • Drainage Improvements
  • Foundation Repair
  • Humidity Treatments
  • Leak Repair
  • Structural Repair
  • Sump Pump Repair
  • Waterproofing

Areas

  • Basements
  • Crawlspaces
  • Foundations

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • TUE
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • WED
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • FRI
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

* By Appointment Only

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Cash Only
  • Discover
  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

1933

Languages Spoken

  • English

Reviews

View More »

Worst Company I've Ever Worked With, 3/03/2011

"SLOW:" I inherited the Olshan 'lifetime warranty' when I bought my home. The Memphis company does not prioritize warranty work. I've waited over a month for service; I've waited months for supplies... to be ordered. "SLOPPY": A lifetime warranty isn't worth much when the initial quality (and effectiveness) is so poor. My basement still leaks. I've had to pay a carpenter to re-do their framing on an exterior wall. My insurance company even granted a claim for me because of their shoddy carpentry that threatened an exterior wall's stabilty. "SEXIST": manager in Memphis. Described me (I'm female) as "hysterical" when I called and required an immediate temporary wall after consulting with a structural engineer. I'm a 42-year-old University Professor; I was last "hysterical" sometime in 1987? I was seldom treated with respect; it was clear I was a potential lawsuit to be intimidated. Every professional that I've had review their work-- insurance adjustors, structural engineers, carpenters-- unanimously agree its some of the worst work they've seen.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Olshan is a scam, 6/22/2010

I needed a water heater replaced and they came and installed the water heater for $850 which I agreed to. They then said that I need an extra $1100 worth of work. The charged me for a second man at... $100... when the second guy came up, he acted as an assistance to the main guy by just handing him supplies. Then they charged me to build a platform made out of a $10 piece of wood under the water heater at a rate of $175. It goes, on, they charged me over $200 for a pan drain that cost about $15 to buy at the store. This company will rip you off more than you can imagine. DO NOT GO WITH THEM!!!

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Displaying 1-11 of 11

Reviews

Hysterical

Reviews: 1

Worst Company I've Ever Worked With

"SLOW:" I inherited the Olshan 'lifetime warranty' when I bought my home. The Memphis company does not prioritize warranty work. I've waited over a month for service; I've waited months for supplies to be ordered. "SLOPPY": A lifetime warranty isn't worth much when the initial quality (and effectiveness) is so poor. My basement still leaks. I've had to pay a carpenter to re-do their framing on an exterior wall. My insurance company even granted a claim for me because of their shoddy carpentry that threatened an exterior wall's stabilty. "SEXIST": manager in Memphis. Described me (I'm female) as "hysterical" when I called and required an immediate temporary wall after consulting with a structural engineer. I'm a 42-year-old University Professor; I was last "hysterical" sometime in 1987? I was seldom treated with respect; it was clear I was a potential lawsuit to be intimidated. Every professional that I've had review their work-- insurance adjustors, structural engineers, carpenters-- unanimously agree its some of the worst work they've seen.

Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing replied on 03-04-2011

Olshan is committed to providing every customer with the highest level of professionalism and courtesy. A big part of that is providing timely warranty service to our warranty holders which every Olshan team member is committed to. Be assured, we will continue to work to resolve any outstanding service issues with this customer and appreciate this problem being escalated. Thanks!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Dallasboy111

Reviews: 1

Olshan is a scam

I needed a water heater replaced and they came and installed the water heater for $850 which I agreed to. They then said that I need an extra $1100 worth of work. The charged me for a second man at $100... when the second guy came up, he acted as an assistance to the main guy by just handing him supplies. Then they charged me to build a platform made out of a $10 piece of wood under the water heater at a rate of $175. It goes, on, they charged me over $200 for a pan drain that cost about $15 to buy at the store. This company will rip you off more than you can imagine. DO NOT GO WITH THEM!!!

Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing replied on 03-04-2011

Often thimes when a water heater is being replaced, code upgrades are required that were not in effect at the time the previous water heater was installed. Unfortunately, this adds cost to the installation that can not be predicted until the plumber actually arrives and inspects the water heater. Olshan plumbers always notify and document customers of any needed code upgrades prior to performing the repairs so the customer can make an informed decision. We regret this customer had a less than favorable experience.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

rico57

Reviews: 1

Unsatisfied

Olshan fixed my basement leak in feb 2003. I hab aditional problems in Jan 2008. They came back and did a little warranty work and we paid for some additional work. I am now having more problems and discover that the Atlanta office is closed. I have tried for two days to speak to someone and finally find out that all Georgia warranty work is done out of Alabamma. I'm still waiting for a call back. With all the flooding in the Atlanta area you would think business was good.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

mkbmkb

Reviews: 6

Poor follow up service = 3 in of water in basement

Had Olshan waterproof our basement in Dec 07. Had to have them come back a couple of weeks after they did the work due to it already leaking. Now 15 months later, we have 3 inches of standing water in our basement. Called on 3/28 and they have failed to return my urgent call for help. Not the kind of service you want when you pay to get your basement waterproofed. In our last house we used Trotter, made a mistake this time and used Olshan only b/c the seller of this house we bought already had a quote from them. We'll see if this post gets them to rise to action. Update -I called again on 4/2 b/c they failed to call back. Couldn't access my file. Finally did & was told I was already out of warranty. $3,645 & a basement full of water & I'm out of luck. They are going to come out & "take a look" and I'm sure try to sell me something. Not a company I'd ever want to deal with. I think this review says it all. We'll be calling Trotter like we should have done from the beginning. Don't waste your time with Olshan. Look at their other poor reviews.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

kerriecochran

Reviews: 1

Foundation and Waterproofing

We are 100% satisfied with Olshan. They installed foundation supports and waterproofing in our basement. They were extremely professional and went straight to work from the moment they came into our home. They answered questions and provided good information. Robert and Christian went out of their way to make sure that we were satisfied with the job. Any phone call that we placed to these men was returned very quickly and they seem to be very interested in providing quality work. These men are a credit to their company. They are very respectful of their clients and are determined to provide excellent customer service. We were quite impressed with their work ethic. We could not be happier with quality of the work. We felt that the company offered a wonderful price for the quality of the services provided. We would recommend Olshan to anyone without reservation. We are quite impressed with the work and feel that we made the right choice when we selected them to complete the job. We have children in our home and every single workman was kind to my family and nice to my children. I highly recommend Olshan for your foundation and waterproofing needs.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

tdmiller

Reviews: 1

Best in Town

Olshan was very knowledgable and educated me about my problem. They were efficient and curtious. They came in diagnosed my foundation problems, sent crew to fix problem, and cleaned up. I almost did not know they had been there! I would recommend them to anybody!

Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing replied on 02-09-2009

Thank you. We appreciate your business and the opportunity to work with you. Olshan Foundation Solutions

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

lksatty

Reviews: 1

HORRIBLE

I called and made an appointment. The office manager told me the guy was "one of the best". He came out to the house and spent a long time and he brought his office manager. I was impressed. He missed the first deadline for a proposal and I called and he gave ma second deadline. That was missed and when I called (three days after we last spoke), I found out from same office manager he was fired three days ago and that no one called me! So I asked for manager to call back. No one called. So I called TX office and she was very nice. Then Regional Manager called and he was rude (interrupting) and he informed me that they usual give proposals at the same time as meeting on site. Of course, office manager never went to manager and told him I was not handled properly. Then I spoke to his boss and she was more concerned with reputation of Olshan. They would not give me a letter stating no reason to believe the employee was not dangerous (since he now knew my home - he seemed nice but who knows) and 4 hours of my time. Never received a proposal or adequate closing. This is the short version but run.

Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing replied on 02-09-2009

We regret that this consumer had a bad experience with us. Olshan provides repair proposals to over 40,000 customers per year nationwide, almost all of whom have a very positive experience with us. The employee referred to was, in fact a real expert in the field (former president of the NAWSRC - the national association of the waterproofing industry). However, his customer service and follow up skills were not up to our standards. That is why he is no longer with our company. We are sorry this happened and regret any inconvenience to this customer. Olshan has a 75 year reputation for providing excellent service, the highest quality work and the best warranty in the industry.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

TuckerParent

Reviews: 25

TERRIBLE - High Cost, Hard Sell

I invited Olshan out to give me an estimate to waterproof my leaky basement. After quoting me the waterproof price (priciest of the 3 estimates we obtained), the Olshan rep then took me around the house and tried to convince me that my house (built in 1968) was going to fall down around my ears any day now, and needed $30,000+ of emergency jack-up foundation work. He even said at one point that the brick veneer of my house where the electric meter had been put in, looked like it had been "altered" by the prior owner to conceal foundation damage. I told him that's what the power company did 30+ years ago when they moved the meter from the street to attach it to my house, and he didn't have a reply! After this fiasco, the Olshan rep then forced me to watch a 20 min promotional video on his laptop, despite me asking if we could skip it. Even inviting them for an estimate was a complete waste of my time. Needless to say, I did not hire them and would never do so, nor recommend them to anyone.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Remodeller

Reviews: 4

I'll probably try them again

I had a perimeter drain installed around the entire perimeter of my basement. They did the work as described. My keeping an eye on their work as they progressed definitely produced better results. I had to point out a few minor things they were overlooking. The rodent cap they put on the gravity feed drain kept falling off. After several times of getting called back out, they used screws instead of precariously placing the cap over the drain line. Following is not specific to this contractor but to all contractors: Looking over shoulders while they work helps you to identify sloppy work. After pointing out a few items, I find contractors in general will pay a little more attention to their work. Having a digital camera and taking lots of flash photos (use the flash merely for theatrics) of the work also helps the contractors focus on doing a good job, since they won't want any sloppy work to be documented. Afterwards, I find the photos to be good reminders of what was actually done.

Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing replied on 02-09-2009

We appreciate working with even the most detailed customers and strive to meet the highest expectations. As a 75 year old company, we pride ourselves in providing the highest quality foundation solutions available in the industry. Thanks for your business. Olshan Foundation Solutions.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

digga5

Reviews: 3

A Very Satisfied Customer

We had some issues with our foundation settling. Olshan came out (on time), diagnosed the problem, explained the causes, and proposed a solution. The work was performed exactly as described and at a fair price. What else could we ask for???

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

KudzuMcbride

Reviews: 4

Be careful

We had Olshan repair foundations for 3 houses. There were screw ups for all 3 houses. Now 2 of the houses still have water problems.

Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing replied on 02-09-2009

It is difficult to address the specifics of this situation from almost 4 years ago. However, we offer a Lifetime Transferable Warranty on our patented waterproofing and foundation repair systems. We welcome this customer - or any customer - to call us any time and we will be happy to address the issues. Sometimes waterproofing problems require more than one visit to get completely under control. Therein lies the value of dealing with a solid, stable company that has a long-term reputation for excellence and a lifetime warranty.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Photos

Album: Generic
1 of 2