Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Movers

Mark the Mover, Inc.

5 star rating 364 Reviews

(404) 351-0018(404) 351-0018 View Website »

1504 Carroll Drive NWAtlanta, GA 30318

  map »

Business overview

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Portrait

Whether you are facing a residential or commercial move, local or long distance, moving some furniture to an apartment or an office full of it, you'll find Mark the Mover completely capable of meeting your needs.

We at Mark the Mover, are a full service moving company based in Atlanta, with authority in 48 states, to move you in and out of. Our team of professionals is dedicated to the highest quality of customer care and takes pride in a reputation for conscientious, efficient.. work.

Mark the Mover will save you time, money and trouble while providing relocation of your goods anywhere in the US.

Motor Carrier #: 342211

Public Service Commission #: 7576

Department of Transportation #: 0758674

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Moving Supplies

  • Boxes
  • Carts & Dollies
  • Dish Packs
  • Forklifts
  • General Equipment & Supplies
  • Packing Supplies
  • Padding & Quilts
  • Padlocks
  • Pallets
  • Ropes
  • Stretch-Wrap
  • Tape
  • Wardrobe Boxes

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Barrow/Walton County
  • Bartow/Pickens County
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Carroll/Coweta County
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Clayton/Fayette County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Covington
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas/Paulding County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fayetteville
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Henry/Spalding County
  • Jonesboro
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • McDonough
  • Midtown
  • Newnan
  • Newton/Rockdale County
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stockbridge
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • Union City
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Amenities

  • Air-Ride Suspensions
  • Automatic Transmissions
  • Climate-Controlled
  • Hitches & Trailers
  • Loading Ramps
  • Low Decks
  • Power Lifts
  • Power Steering
  • Radio Dispatched
  • Vans

Local Service Area

  • International
  • Local
  • Long-Distance
  • Regional

Move Types

  • Commercial & Office Moves
  • Computer Moves
  • Confidential Moves
  • Display & Exhibit Moves
  • Do-It-Yourself Moves
  • Emergency & Short-Notice
  • Employee Relocations
  • Estate Moves
  • Extra Large Load Moves
  • Hi-Rise Moves
  • Industrial Moves
  • Intra-Office
  • Mountain Home Moves
  • Moving & Relocation - General
  • Pianos
  • Residential Moves
  • Senior Moves
  • Single-Piece Moves
  • Small Load Moves
  • Trade Show Moves

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012

Credentials

Mover the Mover is a Member of the American Moving and Storage Association and has completed the Certified Mover Program through AMSA. We are a Member of the Better Business Bureau and are licensed through the Georgia Public Service Commission. We are also a member of the Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce and Cobb Chamber of Commerce.

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 7:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • TUE
  • 7:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • WED
  • 7:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 7:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • FRI
  • 7:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SAT
  • 7:00am
  • 4:00pm
  • SUN
  • 7:00am
  • 12:00pm

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Mastercard
  • Money Orders
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

1978

Documents

[JPG] Customer Testimonials
[JPG] Customer Testimonials
[JPG] Customer Testimonials
[JPG] Customer Testimonials
[JPG] Customer Testimonials

Languages Spoken

  • English

Reviews

View More »

Couldn't be happier!, 10/17/2015

I just used Mark the Mover for a move in Metro Atlanta. From the moment I contacted them they were professional, courteous and responsive. I was given an accurate quote over the phone and They showed... up on time with two trucks and two crews. I had to store my belongings on the trucks for two nights due to my closing schedules and when the crews saw that i really didn't have enough to fill two trucks they went out of their way to take the time to get everything on a single truck reducing my costs for storage substantially. In the end, due to their extra effort, i came in below my quoted price. Each person on the job came up to me, introduced themselves and shook my hand. They were all courteous, helpful and actually cheerful the entire job. The best way i can describe it was as an old school customer service experience.All of our items were wrapped extensively and moved with care. Everything arrived in tact and the team set everything back up and made sure we were happy before heading out. I would not hesitate to refer Mark the Mover to handle your move. Outstanding!

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Great, 8/29/2015

I've used Mark the Mover twice, and sure, paying for movers is expensive, but I think their rates are competitive. They arrived promptly, made appropriate accommodations to ensure my pieces arrived... in good condition and worked very hard. I was very pleased with their hard work.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Videos & Photos

View all »

Video (1 video)

  • 2 2

Photos (20 photos)

  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Washing one of our clean, well equipped moving trucks.
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - We are certified movers!
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - One of our movers helping unload a truck!
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - One of our trucks parked in front of a house!
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - One of our customers made this neat Mark the Mover collage. Thanks!
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Another picture from our artistic customer!
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Our Team at Work
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - We can accommodate large amounts of cargo!
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Our Moving Van
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Our Climate-Controlled Storage Facility
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Residential Moving Vehicle
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Our Team at Work
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - We can safely transport your fragile items!
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Our Climate-Controlled Storage Facility
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Our Team at Work
  • Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA - Mark The Mover


Washing one of our clean, well equipped moving trucks.

Displaying 1-15 of 364

Reviews

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  bobw557

Reviews: 3

What a nightmare

Mark the mover can be summed up like this. The crew was very friendly and helpful. BUT, when we started to get everything arranged in our home, we then discovered not one, not two but every piece of furniture they touched, was either scratched, dinged or nicked. Yes, they will moved boxes, but they did not tell us, the boxes should be made of wood. Every box they touched was crushed, not to say what was inside of it. And let us not forget, do not let them moved loose items left in the basement. Just stacked anything and everything in what ever they could find to put it in. So, if you want a friendly crew to move you and you do not care if all of your furniture is some how defaced, USE MARK THE MOVER. We moved from Boston Ma to Savannah Ga… Savannah Ga to Kernersville NC … Kernersville, NC to Greensboro, NC … Greensboro, NC to Duluth GA apartment … Duluth GA apartment to a Home in Duluth … Duluth GA … to Suwanne GA Not a scratch on anything UNTIL Mark the Mover I DO NOT RECOMMEND THEM

Project Details

Cost $1,000 - $2,999

Date February 2016

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. replied on 4/07/2016

We are disappointed to learn that Mr. Wilkinson feels like his move did not go as well as it should. We are also surprised at the comments he now makes as upon completion of the move he acknowledged in writing that there were, “no problems - everything went smooth.” Such a contradiction caused us to investigate.
In his narrative Mr. Wilkinson claims that, “every piece of furniture they touched was either scratched, dinged or nicked.” It is unlikely that every piece of furniture was damaged. The improbability of this is supported by the fact that no transit related damage was reported by either the moving crew or Mr. Wilkinson upon completion of the move. A damage report is completed and signed by the customer upon finalization of the move. This is done at the time of the final walk through inspection with the customer. Surely if the extent of the damage that Mr. Wilkinson now claims had been so evident then it would have been noticed at that time.
Also it is not uncommon for customers to mistakenly believe that transit related damage occurred when in fact scratches, nicks or dings are actually attributable to pre-existing damage. Customers typically don’t pay attention to pre-existing furniture damage which may have been present months or years beforehand. However when furnishings are placed in a new environment and a close inspection is done then any flaws or blemishes become noticeable.
With regards to the issue of packing and the comment that, “every box they touched was crushed,” a thorough review of the move circumstances revealed the following information:
The customer was packed by owner which is not something that moving companies generally recommend. The reason that this is discouraged is because of the specific problems that Mr. Wilkinson has cited. If a box is not properly packed, for example if it’s not fully packed, then it can easily become crushed during handling and transport. Couple this with the fact that Mr. Wilkinson used his own boxes as opposed to the high quality boxes that Mark the Mover uses then damage is likely to occur.
Although we take every criticism seriously we would be remiss if we failed to point out that all household goods moves are subject to risk. We recommend that all potential customers do their own pre-move inspection in order to itemize and document any pre-existing damage. We also suggest that customers leave the packing to the professionals.
Finally, there is a system in place which addresses the concerns of customers that feel like their belongings were damaged by a mover. If in fact damage is attributable to transit related cause then a remedy can be made contingent upon the level of coverage that the customer selected in their damage contract. We would encourage Mr. Wilkinson to contact our Claims Manager for clarity on issues pertaining to pre-existing damage, transit related damage and packed by owner liability.


Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  ejdhome

Reviews: 3

Couldn't be happier!

I just used Mark the Mover for a move in Metro Atlanta. From the moment I contacted them they were professional, courteous and responsive. I was given an accurate quote over the phone and They showed up on time with two trucks and two crews. I had to store my belongings on the trucks for two nights due to my closing schedules and when the crews saw that i really didn't have enough to fill two trucks they went out of their way to take the time to get everything on a single truck reducing my costs for storage substantially. In the end, due to their extra effort, i came in below my quoted price. Each person on the job came up to me, introduced themselves and shook my hand. They were all courteous, helpful and actually cheerful the entire job. The best way i can describe it was as an old school customer service experience.All of our items were wrapped extensively and moved with care. Everything arrived in tact and the team set everything back up and made sure we were happy before heading out. I would not hesitate to refer Mark the Mover to handle your move. Outstanding!

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  Customer34

Reviews: 4

Great

I've used Mark the Mover twice, and sure, paying for movers is expensive, but I think their rates are competitive. They arrived promptly, made appropriate accommodations to ensure my pieces arrived in good condition and worked very hard. I was very pleased with their hard work.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  mindycorder

Reviews: 1

Wouldn't Use Anyone Else

We loved our experience and will plan to use them again for any future moves! On time, good attitude

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  Louwiki

Reviews: 1

Exceptional customer service

Mark the Mover helped with my 8th move and they were the best movers we have ever had. The entire crew was very professional. One mover, Mario, stands out as the epitome of excellent customer service. We recommend Mark the Mover.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  RDAtlanta

Reviews: 1

Buyer Beware

Do not ever hire these guys to move you into a storage facility. They will overcharge you for moving pads to the extent that your actual expenses will be twice their estimate. These folks are not your friends - in spite of what they tell you,

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. replied on 3/10/2015

While we regret that Dr. Deane was not 100% pleased with his moving experience, we would like to take the opportunity to provide some correction and clarity to his comments.
Dr. Deane’s only issue is over the cost that resulted from his move. He acknowledges that his moving team was efficient and courteous. No damages occurred while his furnishings were in our care, custody, and control. Dr. Deane’s sole grievance is that the move was “very expensive.”
First, the moving industry in Georgia is regulated by state and federal authorities. Pricing is structured so that excess is not allowed. The industry is tightly controlled and clear communication between consumer and mover is a requirement. It is not an option, it is mandatory. This is why we disseminate multiple and redundant sources of information to our customers.
Prior to his move Dr. Deane was provided with a written statement of acknowledgement which spelled out the terms and conditions of his move. The written form coincided with the oral arrangement that he made with our salesman. Presumably Dr. Deane read the material that we provided.
Our estimate was for 4 to 6 hours of work. Dr. Deane’s move took 5 hours to complete. The hourly rate we charged was based on the number of men and trucks we provided. Our rate is competitive and consistent with what other top Atlanta movers charge.
Dr. Deane’s issue over the moving pads is noted however it does not tell the full story. Unlike some movers that simply wrap furniture in a plastic cover; we use heavy blankets which more fully protects a customer’s furnishings. This of course incurs an expense as the customer is temporarily using our property. Our moving blankets sustain wear and tear and we have a right to be compensated for that depreciation. Since Dr. Deane’s furnishings have been moved to a public storage facility, our blankets are temporarily out of our custody and control. Once our moving blankets are returned we will gladly refund half the blanket price so long as Dr. Deane returns the items in good condition.
We do take exception to Dr. Deane’s statements about “poor customer service” and “deceptive and unethical billing practices.” Mark the Mover, Inc. consistently rates among the highest in customer satisfaction of all metro Atlanta movers. So his claim about poor customer service is simply unfounded.
Additionally we do not take critical statements about our billing practices lightly. We are fully transparent and above board in all our customer dealings. We have too many satisfied customers that would disagree with Dr. Deane and would refute the notion that our standardized procedures are deceptive.



Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  tigerlily

Reviews: 9

Couldn't be better...Wow!

This was the first time I used a moving company. I choose Mark the Mover after several recommendations from neighbors. I was totally impressed. They were prompt, courteous, friendly, skilled and even funny. They posed for pictures in our Halloween masks and they made a difficult day a lot more enjoyable. I feel like I definitely got my money's worth and I would definitely ask for this crew on my next move!!

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -
Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  mkirchem

Reviews: 1

Great move with Mark the Mover

The A-team, Coleman, Kenya, Luis, and Francisco moved us. They are a very hardworking, professional group & they were able to squeeze all of our stuff on one truck, which is amazing. We sold our house before our new home is finished and moved to an apartment. We will definitely be calling Mark the Mover in a few months for the move from the apartment to new house and request the A-TEAM!.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  KsMom10

Reviews: 7

Great Moving Company

We had Mark the Mover move us locally. We used them to pack the house prior to the move. The estimate for both the packing and the move were spot on. The cost was reasonable and the crew we had with Coleman as the foreman, were awesome. The guys were very personable and funny but worked extremely hard and did everything they promised and then some. We will actually use them again very soon to move more items that had to stay behind on the first move. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  AtlantanJim

Reviews: 1

Ask for Charley

We moved a 2 bd 2 bath furniture only between two houses in the metro ATL, both with steep grades. Mark the Mover charges a higher price than most per hour but provides 3 movers and similar sized truck for $10/hr more than a 2 mover competitors. That $10 is well spent, at least if you have Charley. He's a great crew lead--fast and efficient. We'd been quoted 6 hrs and had the move done in 3. Would recommend--ask for Charley.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  ValueTheCustomer

Reviews: 3

EASY BREEZY!

I trusted the reviews posted here and went with Mark the Mover after calling around for other quotes. I have used very poor movers in the past and I'm always hesitant but Mark the Mover surpassed my expectations completely. I will definitely be using them again when I need a mover!

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  atlreader

Reviews: 15

The easiest thing about our move

We used Mark the Mover for a local move last weekend. They were professionals from start to finish. I called and spoke with a knowledgeable person (John) who quoted me a price based on the amount of stuff we needed moved, as well as a time quote. John answered all of my questions and immediately emailed me a confirmation of everything we discussed. A dispatcher called us the day before the move to confirm everything again, and the crew leader (Jeff) called us the morning of the move to advise us they were on the way. The team was on time and moved us quickly and efficiently. They wrapped up all our furniture and specially wrapped our mirrors. All four guys were exceptionally nice and fun to be around. The move was completed within the estimated time frame, and there were no surprise charges at the end. At some point the foot board of our bed got scratched, and we didn't notice it until after they left, but it can be easily fixed with a wood furniture pen. I would definitely hire and recommend Mark the Mover to anyone moving in Atlanta. They performed the work as promised - it was the easiest part of our move.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. replied on 8/28/2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review on our company. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our service and had a great experience with the crew we sent you. We hope to help you again with your future moves!

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  UofC95

Reviews: 2

Truly the Best Moving Experience

Based on the strength of MTM's reviews here and on other review sites, I chose them for my interstate move over larger, national players for a corporate move in April 2011. When they provided an estimate, they showed the kind of flexibility (sunday delivery, two dedicated mid-sized trucks versus loading me with another move on an 18 wheeler, etc.) that no other mover was willing to provide. My team included Bruce, Glenn, Marcus, Bud and Jabastian. All were courteous, respectful and professional at all times. We had some minor, customary claims and they were processed efficiently by Paul. He was very helpful facilitating us through a painless process. If I still lived in Atlanta, MTM would be my go to mover.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. replied on 8/20/2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review on us; Specially after so much time has past. It's great to know that our crews made such a memorable impression and would most definitely love to move you again in the future!

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  mitch_r

Reviews: 6

Good job

I've used 4 movers over the last 15 years, and Mark the Mover comes in a solid second. They arrived on time, were very polite,professional, and conscientious. They did a good job of protecting my hardwood floors by rolling out runners throughout the house. They used three people for the move, which was the right amount - I've found two-people moves to be very slow. On the negative side, there was some cosmetic damage to my twin boxsprings that go under my king-size mattress. One felt pad came off of my sofa because the bottom of the sofa leg rubbed against the door frame (causing the felt pad to come off) - I wish they had noticed that at the time it happened. Mark the Mover isn't cheap. I think they charged $150 per hour with a minimum of 2 hours and a $100 fee for travel time. I think $150 an hour for a three-man crew isn't too bad, but the extra $100 is a significant add-on. The time for the move might have been just a little longer than average. There was a new employee on the crew, and it seemed to result in a little downtime now and then. In the past, the crews seemed to constantly be in action without any pauses.

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. replied on 8/01/2013

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a nice and honest review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service, but truly wish we could have come in first place on your list. We will make sure to address the negatives you have pointed out and hope that you will give us another opportunity to move you in the future. Hopefully then we can make it to the top of your list!

Mark the Mover, Inc. - Atlanta, GA -  paperproduct

Reviews: 1

Best Mover We Have Ever Used

We have moved frequently and this is by far the best co. we have ever used. Some of the guys LITTERALLY RAN back and forth with sometimes 2-3 boxes on their back. They worked so hard. They were very courteous and energetic. They finished about 3 hours sooner than I had expected, saving me significant money. They used 2 smaller trucks which enabled them to get down our steep driveway saving time loading. I have absolutely no complaints. THANK YOU Coleman, Dafton, Mitch, Quintavions, Ty-Bey, Demetriuis, and Marcus!!

Was this review helpful?

Yes (0)     No (0)

Mark the Mover, Inc. replied on 6/17/2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review on our company. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our service and hope to help you again with your future moves!

Videos

Photos

Generic
20 photos
Album: Generic
1 of 20




Washing one of our clean, well equipped moving trucks.