Hum, Monica MD

5 star rating 16 Reviews

(404) 574-5820 Call

Write a Review Write a Review

95 Collier Rd NW, Suite 4025Atlanta, GA 30309

Kudzu - Best Of Winner

Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2012 - Kudzu.com Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2012 - Kudzu.com

Reviews

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  will8099

    Reviews: 1

    Best Anywhere
    will8099 (1 review)
    4/13/2017

    Dr Hum is without a doubt the best Doctor anywhere, hands down. I needed colo rectal surgery recently and after seeing her for a second opinion, I knew without a doubt what she said was correct and she was the one I needed to perform the surgery. She explained everything, drew diagrams and answered every question we had. She never made us feel hurried. It was as though we were her only clients. While in the hospital she would sit and visit with us. I can tell you I would recommend her to anyone needing this delicate surgery. She is truly amazing.

    More »

    Project Details

    Date April 2017

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  veggielover

    Reviews: 2

    Absolutely The Best Doc In Town!
    veggielover (2 reviews)
    7/17/2015

    Dr Hum is a brilliant surgeon with an excellent bedside manor. There aren't enough stars to describe her! I encourage everyone to see her for any colo rectal procedures!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  MGen84

    Reviews: 2

    An Example for Medical Professionals Everywhere
    MGen84 (2 reviews)
    1/05/2015

    I have two hopes in writing this review: 1) That anyone looking for a good CR surgeon will not waste time looking any further, and 2) That Dr. Hum might read this review, realize how special she is and continue striving to provide a superior level of care to her patients. How do you make a patient feel valued? How do you make them feel listened to? Doctors everywhere could take a lesson from Dr. Hum in this regard. Instead of meeting Dr. Hum in an exam room, as she slipped on a menacing latex glove, I got to meet her in her office. She explained to me that this is where she meets all of her patients. Even though she was busy, she spent fifteen minutes speaking with me about my medical history and letting me know what I could expect during the examination. During that fifteen minutes, I developed a keen appreciation for her competence as a doctor and her awesome sense of humor as an individual. For anyone who has ever had a CR exam, you know it is impossible for it to be physically comfortable, but Dr. Hum's bedside manner eased the tension and made it much more bearable. Afterwards, she took me back to her office, shared her diagnosis and outlined several possible courses of treatment. I left that day feeling like I knew exactly what was going on. Furthermore, I left that day with a little bit less cynicism concerning doctors. Dr. Hum proved to me that there really are those that go above and beyond to ensure that their patients receive the best care available.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  InAlpharettaGA

    Reviews: 2

    A wonderful and rare CR surgeon
    InAlpharettaGA (2 reviews)
    6/10/2013

    by A grateful patient in Alpharetta GA. I had done extensive research then chose to visit 3 different CR surgeons. Dr. Monica Hum was the one I finally chose. The other 2 surgeons are 2 miles and 6 miles from my house. Dr. Hum is over 30 miles from my house. The travel proved to be well worthwhile. She has extensive technical and surgery experience which I heavily valued. But the most important determining factor is she has extraordinary manners in dealing with patient on the personal level. It is extremely hard to find a surgeon has both technical and also people skills together. She takes time to listen and explain all the necessary details to make patient feel comfortable and confident she is the right one to operate on you. It is not an easy decision to make for anyone, but she makes you feel at ease that you know all the things you need to well prepare. My surgery was very successful. All of the post-op visits were done in a very caring manner. I recommend Dr. Hum to all of my family members and friends if any one needs a CR surgeon. You won't go wrong with her. By the way, her office was very well managed and run. Her staff pick up the phone and answer every time I called. It is an atmosphere you feel very different from many other doctor's offices. Dr. Hum's staff are very responsive, clear, and thorough. You can feel it is an atmosphere created by good leadership from Dr. Hum. Overall, highly recommended!!!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  jeffallen1

    Reviews: 3

    Best Surgeon in Atlanta!
    jeffallen1 (3 reviews)
    10/02/2012

    Words cannot express how wonderful and amazing Dr. Hum is. She has saved my life more times than I can count. I was referred by my equally fantastic GI when I ran out of treatment options. Dr. Hum has operated on me twice since, and she has been the epitome of "AWESOME" both times. Having surgeries is never a fun experience, but Dr. Hum's ability to help navigate her patients to better health is unsurpassed! She has always been a phone call away if I ever needed her and her bedside manner is one of the best I've had the pleasure to experience. Her staff is equally as impressive! Not only are they professional and courteous, bu they always go out of their way to accommodate their patients. I do not generally go out of my way to write reviews like these, but Dr. Hum is something special! Like I said, she helped me through some of my darkest hours... and I am convinced I wouldn't be typing this review today if it were not for her knowledge, caring and compassion for her patients!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  campbellkid

    Reviews: 3

    Very Bad Experience
    campbellkid (3 reviews)
    4/18/2012

    I have had a terrible experience with Dr Hum & just wanted to give you a heads up so that you may not want to refer her to anyone else. I finally got her to call my prescription in after several phone calls. Well, she was supposed to get my records (which she never did) I had to get them myself. She has had them since Friday & I have left messages for her on Monday & today and the nurse said she's busy & she'll call you back when she gets around to it. I am sorry, but I don't know whether her practice has grown to the point where she can't handle it.. but I would not reccomend her to anyone.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (1)

    Hum, Monica MD replied on 3/02/2013

    Most patients have their own records sent to our office prior to their visit for review by the doctors. Having your medical records and bringing a current medication list to the appointment allows our physicians to have information about you immediately available to make recommendations and safely prescribe medications during your visit. We can even send prescriptions electronically to your pharmacy while you are present in the office.

    Since our physicians are surgeons, they can be in the OR all day, but they do try to return phone calls as soon as they are back in the office, even late at night. In response to this review, we now have a certified Physician Assistant (PA) to answer calls and be available in the office daily.

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  audreyisabel

    Reviews: 13

    Dr. Hum is exceptional.
    audreyisabel (13 reviews)
    1/23/2010

    After being misdiagnosed after 2.5 years, Dr. Hum took the time and gentle care in correctly diagnosing me. Had surgery with her in January 2010, and I will say when you have an excellent surgeon; you will be virtually pain-free. My surgery was excellent, and my post-op pain on a grade of 1-10 was a 3-5, and I stopped my major pain medications on Day 2 of Post Op Recovery.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  2xistatl

    Reviews: 1

    Christmas Gift
    2xistatl (1 review)
    12/25/2009

    Dr. Hum gave me the best gift ever - PEACE OF MIND - I was terrified to see her regarding my health issue. Immediately upon meeting her she puts you at ease. She has an amazing bed side manner! As far as the actual procedure...I had read many things on the Internet and expected the worse -Boy was I wrong .... I wish I met with Dr Hum 5 years ago to address this issue. This is day two and I didn't need any of the pain med's and I feel great. I can only attribute this to her excellent skills as a Doctor... Dr Hum - I am very thankful to have met you! A million Thanks!!!!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  gozpi1

    Reviews: 6

    A Doctor that will go as many miles as needed!!!
    gozpi1 (6 reviews)
    10/20/2009

    She will take time to talk to you and explain your condition and treatment until you have no more questions. This is a doctor that when the hospital pharmacy was unable to prepare a medication, she went to the pharmacy and did it herself to save us money. Thank you Dr. Hun, we need more professionals like you!!!!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  gratefulpatient

    Reviews: 1

    Best colorectal surgeon in Atlanta
    gratefulpatient (1 review)
    9/04/2009

    I've seen 3 different doctors for my condition and was beginning to think that I would never completely heal. Then I met Dr. Hum. She found the problem, corrected it through surgery, and within one month I am almost completely healed. She clearly explained every detail every step of the way. It's rare to find such an excellent physician who is also a great people person. Thank you Dr. Hum!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  milliepat

    Reviews: 12

    The Very Best Healthcare in Atlanta
    milliepat (12 reviews)
    1/29/2009

    Only doctor that correctly identified the cause of my rectal pain and burning. Before her, I had been treated unsuccessfully for three years by five different doctors. Never felt rushed or neglected in her office consults and exams.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  ldb924

    Reviews: 1

    Best physician in Atlanta
    ldb924 (1 review)
    8/25/2007

    Dr. Hum is very intelligent and compassionate. She is the exampole that other physicians should guide themselves after. She treats each patient as an individual and speaks to you in clear and precise terms. Without Dr.Hum I would not be alive today. I thank God for her caring and positive nature each and everyday.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  sooty1

    Reviews: 1

    Dr. Hum is very special~
    sooty1 (1 review)
    1/27/2007

    I underwent sugery with Dr. Hum, and she is very special indeed, as she is very honest, open and forward with you from the start. She takes time to talk with you and answer all of your questions. I have since seen her for other digestive issues I am having, and she is very helpful and always listens, and helps you understand what is going on with your body so you really can "hear" her, and absorb the situation. I really feel she saved my life, and recommend her to the highest possible degree. Thanks for being there for me Dr. Hum! 8)

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  Kris07

    Reviews: 3

    Wonderful Doctor!
    Kris07 (3 reviews)
    1/02/2007

    If you need this type of doctor, she is awesome! You may have to wait a bit but she always covers everything in great detail and takes her time. I wish all of my docs were like her!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Hum, Monica MD - Atlanta, GA -  letsgofly

    Reviews: 1

    What a Great Experience
    letsgofly (1 review)
    6/26/2006

    Can't say enought about Dr. Hum. Put both my husband and myself at ease the first time we met to discuss the procedure. Friendly and professional Office Staff. Great follow-up after the surgery. If you have to have this type of surgery, you can't go wrong with Dr. Hum.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)


Business details

Treatments Offered

  • Biopsies
  • Colonoscopy
  • Counseling & Therapy
  • Ultrasound & Sonograph

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • TUE
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • WED
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • THU
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • FRI
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

* By Appointment Only

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

2003

Languages Spoken

  • English