Mathew M. John, DPM, FACFAS

(770) 977-3668 www.afcenters.com

2790 Sandy Plains RoadMarietta, GA 30066 map it »

Save to my favorites »

Business overview

Hospitals

  • Northside Hospital

Specialty

  • Ankle Conditions
  • Arch Problems
  • Athlete's Foot
  • Bone Fractures
  • Bunions
  • Calluses
  • Circulation Problems
  • Deformities
  • Diabetic Foot Problems
  • Flat Feet
  • Foot Odor
  • Foot Pain
  • Fungus
  • Geriatric Problems
  • Hammertoe
  • Heel Pain
  • Nail Disorders
  • Skin Disorders
  • Sports Injuries
  • Spurs
  • Tendonitis
  • Toe Pain
  • Warts

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Canton
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Cobb County
  • Dunwoody
  • Kennesaw
  • Marietta
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Woodstock

Treatments Offered

  • Casting
  • Cryosurgery
  • Diagnostic Treatment
  • General Podiatry
  • In-Patient Surgery
  • Micro Surgery
  • Non-Surgical Treatments
  • Orthotics
  • Out-Patient Surgery
  • Sports Medicine
  • Surgery
  • Wound Treatment

Insurance What is this?

  • Athens Area Health Plan Select
  • BlueChoice (BC/BS of GA)

Diagnostic Testing

  • Fluoroscopy
  • Gait Analysis
  • X-Rays

Services

  • Disability Evaluations
  • Foot Care Products
  • Free Initial Consultation
  • Pediatric Care
  • Preventative Care
  • Second Opinions
  • Special Shoes

Appointment Types

Consultations

Early Morning

Emergency

Evenings

Outpatient Care / Ambulatory Care

Same Day

Walk-ins Welcome

Residency

  • National Naval Medical Center
    Bethesda, MD 20889
  • VA Medical Center/University of Maryland
    Baltimore, MD 21221

Fellowship

  • National Naval Medical Center
    Bethesda, MD 20889

Education 1

Augusta State University 1994 BS

Education 2

Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine 1998 MD

Publications:

Chief Resident

New Patients:

Yes

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 4:00pm
  • TUE
  • 9:00am
  • 6:30pm
  • WED
  • 9:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 2:00pm
  • 4:30pm
  • FRI
  • 9:00am
  • 4:00pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

Payments Accepted

  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

1986

Reviews

View More »

bad experience, 12/19/2013

My appointment was ignored by the doctor and the staff. Waited 30 minutes without notice, indicated that to the front desk person to no avail. My time is very valuable to me, seems not to the doctor... nor the staff.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Happy Patient!!!!, 7/03/2012

Ok, I normally don't write reviews but here goes. I am a very happy patient today. The procedure I got today could be a painful process, but no it wasn't. I have to say Dr. John was very gentle,... kind and the procedure was truly pain free. I am not kidding. I was so nervous upon coming in, but left in no pain and no tears were shed. I am a baby! If I have to go back for a follow up, I am not scared this time. Thank you to Dr. John and his staff. Now fingers crossed it works!

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Displaying 1-15 of 28

Reviews

1017ycs

Reviews: 2

bad experience

My appointment was ignored by the doctor and the staff. Waited 30 minutes without notice, indicated that to the front desk person to no avail. My time is very valuable to me, seems not to the doctor nor the staff.

Mathew M. John, DPM, FACFAS replied on 12-19-2013

I'm sorry that you had to wait 30 minutes without being seen. I will have to disagree that you were ignored. You signed in at 3:10pm for your 3:15pm and waited in the reception area and then your appointment was acknowledge because you were brought back to the treatment room. When you asked my receptionist why you were waiting so long she replied that you were next to be seen which was correct. If you would have waited 2 minutes longer I would have seen you because I already had your chart and was reviewing your last visit. I and my office try our best to see our patients in a timely manner. There are instances where the healthcare of my patient cannot be rushed due to emergency appointments or complicated cases and I treat all my patients with the same quality of care without trying to rush them out. As many of the doctors offices have been experiencing, the new healthcare environment is changing with longer wait times, higher deductibles, and decreased quality of care. We strive to stand above these changes but we obviously failed to meet your expectations and again I apologize that your wait time of 25 minutes past your appointment time was unacceptable.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

jenkwoman

Reviews: 1

Happy Patient!!!!

Ok, I normally don't write reviews but here goes. I am a very happy patient today. The procedure I got today could be a painful process, but no it wasn't. I have to say Dr. John was very gentle, kind and the procedure was truly pain free. I am not kidding. I was so nervous upon coming in, but left in no pain and no tears were shed. I am a baby! If I have to go back for a follow up, I am not scared this time. Thank you to Dr. John and his staff. Now fingers crossed it works!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

pooleb

Reviews: 1

another point of view

I would first like to say that I was there the same time that the "lady" below that wrote (the only) negative review on this wonderful doctor. I give kudos to his entire staff for not calling the closest psychiatric hospital to come and pick her up. Her poor son and what I assumed to be her mother, were in tears by her behavior. She not only totally embarrassed herself, but them as well. Even the Federal Express man made several comments before finally (after 10 min) went to find another employee to sign for the package. I think her level of maturity can be summed up by her parting words to the receptionist..."Have a bad day." Please don't let one CRAZY person keep you from visiting an excellent doctor and his staff! (Written by a real patient and not forged by an employee)

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

jjw903

Reviews: 2

Excellent doctor and staff

I have been battling heel pain for 10 months. After six months of self treatment, I made an appointment based on a referral from a friend. I have been a registered nurse for over 20 years so I have dealt with many doctors. Dr. John is a breath of fresh air. He is a very caring, patient, and professional doctor. Marla answered my questions about my Tricare (government) insurance. Melanee always arranged prompt appointments with Dr. John and even accommodated my need for a same day appointment before I left for two weeks of training with the Army Reserves. I would not have been able to get through this Army training without Dr. John. After 3 appointments I am now completely pain free. Thank you Dr. John and staff for great care

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

YaraAl

Reviews: 1

Stay Away!! - Save Your Money!

Do NOT go to this place!! You'll regret it!! The office staff, including Melanee and the office manager-Marla, are the most unprofessional and uncaring staff you will ever see! Their level of rudeness, laziness, and hatefulness is shocking! You'll regret that you've ever gone there! The other reviews were obviously written by themselves, and are all lies!! The staff are the most uncaring and hateful staff that I have ever seen! Stay Away!!

Mathew M. John, DPM, FACFAS replied on 06-26-2012

It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectation and standards. Our office, as a courtesy, calls each patient's insurance company to obtain up to date benefits. We believe that a patient well informed about their insurance benefits avoids confusion and allows them to make informed decisions as part of their health care. As part of our service in verifying your insurance we do not typically call your credit card company to verify the the amount of funds because they normally will only provide that information to the patient and not the doctor's office. My front office coordinator Melanee attempted to explain that to you several times. In addition, my office manager Marla tried to remedy the situation privately in a treatment room and offered to make any calls to your insurance and credit card company you wanted but you refused and only wanted to receive an apology from Melanee. And when asked whether you would like to proceed to see the doctor, you proceeded to walk out without having your son be medically evaluated. I fail to see where an apology is needed but I can only say that we obviously failed in our communication with you and I will be the one to apologize that I did not have an opportunity to speak to you directly to remedy the situation although we are limited in performing some services such as calling your credit card company. I am sorry that you have resorted to posting a negative review but in reading the the vast majority of our patient reviews on this site and others, your experience is atypical and unusual for our office.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

maryllong1

Reviews: 1

What a find!

Dr. John as been treating my mom for about two years due to her foot problems associated with Parkinsons. He is thorough, calm and does not make you feel stupid when asked questions. I am now using him and his great staff for my plantar warts. So far so good!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

ScathingReviewer

Reviews: 2

Great "bedside" manner

Dr. John is great. I have been to him for calluses and also for plantar fasciitis. He really takes time to explain things and has a very calm demeanor which makes cortisone shots not quite so awful. I would absolutely recommend him.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

srbret

Reviews: 1

A Great Find

This is one doctor I would recommend to anyone. He took time with me, and was very efficient and professional. I also felt very much at ease with him. My foot healed quickly and without any problems.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

dixiebrit

Reviews: 1

I am walking without pain

After years of painful, chronic wounds on the bottom of my feet, I found Dr. John. He recommended a course of action no other orthopedist or podiatrist had suggested and today I am walking painfree and totally healed. He is thorough, kind, gentle, and all-around wonderful. His office is tremendous, too. His office hours are flexible and I have never had to wait--generally I am in and out in under 30 minutes. He is the best podiatrist I have ever dealt with.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Toesknows

Reviews: 3

Excellent Doctor

Dr. John has the skill without all the ego and hassle. He is talented, kind, attentive, available, and gives me a strong sense on trustworthness. He is just the right age to be up on everthing yet mature and highly skilled. Best surgeon I have ever come across.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

KarenWGA

Reviews: 1

The Best Foot Doctor in Atlanta

Dr. John has worked wonders for my feet. I have suffered through plantar fasciitis and a few other foot issues such as a stress fracture and a neuroma. Dr. John and his staff are wonderful. They are always professional, accommodating and able to work me in for an appt. when needed. Dr. John is the best in his field and I like his conservative approach to treatment. Dr. John prescribed custom orthotics which have saved my feet. He takes the time to listen to what's going on and gives an honest, accurate projection of recovery time and what to expect with treatment. I have recommended his office to friends who are equally as satisfied with his service. I wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

tennistd

Reviews: 2

Best Podiatrist in Atlanta

Dr. John and his staff are wonderful. The doctor's bedside manners are great and his skills are the best. I would send all of my family and friends to Dr. John.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

strobelight

Reviews: 5

Very thorough, fantastic service

Dr. John was fabulous -- I had to have a virus frozen off the sole of my foot, and he was very accomodating to my wishes. We had to have several visits to complete the procedures, and he was very gentle, until I told him to complete the procedure, even if it was painful for me. Of course he appropriately gave me the medicine I needed to be comfortable, but he listened to my wishes and did what was medically necessary to complete what I needed done. I will highly recommend to anyone!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

KDeardorff

Reviews: 18

Awesome

I had put off having some work done on my feet for years. Dr John and his staff are awesome. The procedure is not painless but he makes it as easy and pleasant as possible. And the office staff are excellent - couldn't ask for better!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

cmyers751

Reviews: 4

Podiatrist

Did not know what to expect from a podiatrist but he is wonderful and so is his staff. Calm, reassuring, explains everything. Great experience.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Photos

Album: Generic
1 of 9




bunion before surgery