Schantz Home Improvement Company

(404) 537-2993 myhomeguys.com »

1530 Howell Mill Road NWAtlanta, GA 30318   map »

Business overview

Service Area

  • Alpharetta
  • Buckhead
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cobb County
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas/Paulding County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Marietta
  • Midtown
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
VIEW MORE »

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012, 2013, 2014

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • TUE
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • WED
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • FRI
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

Green Credentials

Schantz recycles many of the old materials removed from your home. Asphalt (roofing) and metals (gutters) are brought to the scrap yard to be recycled instead of dumped in crowded landfills. Also, our windows are certified green and our main siding product is made from recycled fly ash. In our office, we re-use files, and use scrap paper rather than new sheets when practical. It all adds up!

Reviews

View More »

Response to 3/25 review, 4/20/2015

We are not paid advertiser any longer so we cannot respond to reviews via a business login. We are pleased that the reviewer on 3/25 has changed their review as we always make all efforts to assure... if we make a mistake, we make it right. That's the difference if you choose Schantz. As we say "Don't take a Chance... Go with Schantz."

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Great, 3/25/2015

Good work. Very happy........ Hope to do work again. glad that they worked things out and happy to do business again with company.

Business Referrals

Linked Review

Mayoda

Reviews: 0

Siding & Roof Replacement - not 5 star

I had to become the project manager of my siding and roof replacement to ensure the job went according to contract. Schantz installed wrong color roofing shingles, installed siding with excessive amount of face nails, broke an external gas line and didn't have the gas shut off to the house (just let it continue flowing), painted using inferior paint than in contract, pressured for payment prior to job completion, didn't tape house wrap to window frames as stated in the contract, left trash (beverage containers, fast food wrappers) in several locations across my property, never got promised case of matching roofing shingles for repairs. And, although there is a picture of using weather watch product at eaves and discussing the value of using it there, doesn't install it at the eves since Georgia code doesn't require it (and it isn't required since we don't average below 25 deg in January or experience hurricane winds). I wrongly assumed that the picture in the contract represented weather watch use in all vulnerable areas. The things done right were promptly returning my phone calls and ultimately reaching an agreement so we could finish the project. The end result was acceptable, but all of the issues were preventable and unacceptable. There are contractors in the Atlanta area that would have proactively prevented these mistakes in the first place.

Schantz Home Improvement Company replied on 03-18-2011

Your job was completed 3 years ago. You may find this odd, but I thank you for posting this review. I've actually shared your project with many customers. First, you are correct that many items did not go well in your installation. No one is perfect and we are not an exception. However, when things go wrong, I would like to think this is where Schantz excels over other contractors. GAF had just introduced their new line of colors, and it took 5 days before anyone realized the wrong color was installed. The supplier had delivered the wrong color. I offered to replace the roof FREE of charge or credit you $2,332. You chose the credit. As for the leak barrier, we both know it is abundantly clear in the proposal (right next to the photo) where it is installed. We install in all required areas per GAF, not just the valleys as most roofers do. No one installs on the eaves as it is not required or necessary. This application is for ice dams (these don’t occur in the south). The siding in the rear of the home did have many “face” nails. Rather than make repairs, I had my crew remove and dispose of the siding on the entire rear of the home (1100 SF) and start over. My painter did in fact use the wrong paint, and we painted the entire home again at no charge. Your home was a bank foreclosure and in disrepair. The gas line was a small flexible copper line for the grill (against code) that was stepped on 50 times prior to us arriving. I guess we were #51. We fixed it (up to code) with a hard gas line along with the 10 other items (rusted lights, electric outlets, etc) that you "pinned" on us and I repaired at no charge. Unfortunately, no matter how hard one tries, sometimes things do not go smoothly. I personally project managed your job and take full responsibility. The end result of your project was of high quality and timely even with the mishaps. Thanks for allowing me to fill in the blanks.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO


More Reviews

MyHomeGuys

Reviews: 0

Response to 3/25 review

We are not paid advertiser any longer so we cannot respond to reviews via a business login. We are pleased that the reviewer on 3/25 has changed their review as we always make all efforts to assure if we make a mistake, we make it right. That's the difference if you choose Schantz. As we say "Don't take a Chance... Go with Schantz."

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

GAF HD Timberline roof completed in 2009

jjafangel

Reviews: 0

Great

Good work. Very happy........ Hope to do work again. glad that they worked things out and happy to do business again with company.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Ratbag001

Reviews: 0

Terrific people to do business with

Schantz installed new windows and doors in November 2013. Greg and his team were terrific throughout the process; on-time (unlike a lot of contractors I've dealt with), in constant communication, and always making sure I knew what was happening, and what options I had when problems arose. I've recommended them to several friends and neighbors.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

lwbrown

Reviews: 0

Excellent new roof

Schantz installed a GAF lifetime roof on our house. They were a little bit more than the competitor but they were so knowledgeable about the process that we felt very confident in there work.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

skii1110

Reviews: 0

professional and highly recommended

I had to repair the damaged roof and gutter caused by fallen big pine tree in back yard. After time-consuming research, I contacted Schatz Home Improvement Company. It had such a great review, and I was hoping the company will repair the damage without any conflict issue. I am very satisfied how Mr. Greg Schantz and his crew handled the project so professionally. The job was done quickly, and throughly without any trouble. Greg was honest and sincere to answer all questions that I asked before the repair job started and during the process. Over all, they did job done as they promised: the quality of work done and time frame. I am so pleased not only the job was done in such professional manner, but also Greg treats his client with sincerity, honesty, and respect. I appreciate him and his crew for all their great work. I highly recommend Schantz Home Improvement Company.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

thomasmmoody

Reviews: 0

Awesome Change!

After over a month of research and questions, Schantz was able to install a beautiful roof and much better gutter system. This all happened in two days with great clean up. I'll certainly refer this company to others that need this type of work done.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

 roof stripped
 Finished Product

GregAtlanta

Reviews: 0

Professional and Honest

I asked Greg Schantz to bid on 6" gutters for my home in Ansley Park. I got the bid and was happy with their reasonable price. The installer was very nice and wow, they are fast. They had pictures from the proposal showing where they thought best for down spouts, so they are awesome to use technology to ensure the "sale" and the "delivery" of the service matches. They took a check "in the mail" as a down payment and final payment after they job was completed. I'm a picky home owner with being in Ansley Park and I am very happy with their service and product.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

BobBell

Reviews: 0

Quality Work

We were very satisfied with the work. High quality pre-planning, clearly defined work products, high quality work done by project manager and roofing workers. They completed the work including cleanup in one long day. All Schantz employees from top to bottom were helpful, informative and respectful.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

ctysonatlanta

Reviews: 0

Great/Professional Roofing Job

Very professional. Greg stopped the house and inspected my roof and provided a number of recommendations, scenarios. Pricing was reasonable. His team replaced my roof is just over a day. The crew did a great job in picking up debris (roofing and nails) before leaving.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

mrscuso

Reviews: 0

Appreciate the Phone Call

I called Schantz to look at our roof that is leaking in two different places. The woman was very polite, and was straight-forward and told me they are extremely busy and would not be able to make the repairs for a while. I greatly appreciate her honesty. Instead of stringing me along just to get my money they were forthright about their situation. I could not rate them for quality or value, therefore I gave them average.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

dtracey13

Reviews: 0

Best Contractor intown!

This is the second time I have used Schantz. Both times Greg provided superior service, product and, performance! His crews do outstanding work, are very courteous and timely.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

rayvanllc

Reviews: 0

Superb Roofing Contractor

I looked up Schantz online after another roofer screwed up. I should have gone to these pros 1st. They were realistic with what needed to happen with my roof leak, diligently scheduled it and worked with me on pricing it out.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Cubsgal

Reviews: 0

Great Customer Service and Quality Workmanship

I live on the west coast and rent out my home. In October, we had a sewer back up at my house. Schantz Home Improvement handled it all from dealing with my insurance company to working with my tenant to keeping my nerves calm through a stressful situation that I could not be there to handle in person. They kept me informed throughout and made great recommendations for replacement carpet and bathroom fixtures. Their sub contractors did quality work and they were able to get the work done in 3 days! I highly recommend them.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

geegee9

Reviews: 0

Solved a tricky roof leak problem

Schantz found and stopped a roof leak quickly and permanently. They checked the source from the outside and from the attic and I've been dry for months. The others that came out probably would have solved my problem, but they wanted to replace the whole roof (at 9 years). I will definately call on them for future projects.

Schantz Home Improvement Company replied on 02-03-2013

I suppose it doesn't surprise me that the others wanted to maximize profit. We like to assess the entire situation and suggest the best use of your money as if it was ours. Sure, we didn't get rich quick, but we would rather grow our faithful customer base for long term prosperity. Our repeat business keeps us in business. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

MCSliver

Reviews: 0

Siding Work

The project was a smaller job, but Schantz still did it for a good price. The siding work was done quickly and looks good. I appreciated their work and professionalism.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Photos

Album: Door / Misc jobs
1 of 6




New hardy, copper baytop, gutter, windows. Baily