Kalahari Electrical Services Handyman Services

Kalahari Electrical Services

408 Reviews

(678) 999-6767 www.kalahari-electrical.com... » View Website »

Business overview

Kalahari Electrical Services is a well-established Atlanta electrical contractor who is fully licensed and insured.

As one of the top Atlanta electrical contractors, we provide electrical services that include repairs, replacement and installation in residential, commercial and industrial buildings. We take great pride in our work and have an excellent track record as seen on Kudzu.com with our 5-star customer reviews.


Here's why you should call Kalahari Electrical.. Services when making your decision on whom to call:

>Kalahari-Electrical Service vans are fully equipped.

>The owners answer the phone personally.

>Your service technicians are the best and have undergone extensive background checks, including driving records and drug testing.

>They arrive fully prepared to solve your problems promptly
and on-the-spot.

>Your service technicians are experienced and highly trained.

>Your service technicians will arrive on time and will phone before arriving in a fully stocked warehouse-on-wheels truck with over 3,500 electrical parts and state-of-the-art tools.

>Your service technicians will be sharp, clean, courteous and professional to help you with your electrical needs.
With more than 30 years of experience, there?s no electrical work that we cannot tackle or repair.


Offering a wide variety of electrical services to residential, commercial and industrial buildings ranging from permit to completely new installations, rewiring and repair. We also do remodeling, recessed lighting, indoor and outdoor lightning etc.

Here is a partial list of our services:
Identify and repair electrical fire hazards.
Install new outlets and circuits anywhere in your home.
Install light fixtures and ceiling fans in high or low ceilings.
Design and install landscape lighting.
Enjoy new recessed lights with no messy drywall damage.
Protect your home from lightning and power surges.
Label confusing electrical panels.
Cleanup messy wiring in attics, basements, and crawl spaces.
Install new circuits for hot tubs, spas, A/C units, and more...
Center chandeliers and other fixtures.
Upgrade your old panel and meter.
Install life saving smoke detectors in your home.
Install new security lights around your home.
Electrical home inspections.
Electrical code corrections.
Ceiling fan installation.
Breakers and fuses.
Service panel upgrades.
High-Tech troubleshooting.
Computer circuits.
Surge protectors.
Ground fault circuits.
Appliance Circuits.
Lamp and ballast replacement.
Specialty receptacles.
Flickering lights .
And Much, Much More!

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Equipment Types

  • Air Conditioning & Heating
  • Appliances
  • De-Icing Systems
  • Fans - Attic & Roof
  • Fans - Ceiling
  • Fans - Exhaust
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Generators
  • Home Entertainment Systems
  • Intercoms & Doorbells
  • Lighting - Indoor
  • Lighting - Outdoor
  • Mobile Home Wiring
  • Motors
  • Multi-Room Audio
  • Outlets & Switches
  • Panels & Fuse Boxes
  • Phone/Data Wiring
  • Pool & Hot Tub Connections
  • Security Systems
  • Signs
  • Solar
  • Surge Protectors
  • Surround Sound
  • Underground Wiring

Service Area

  • Alpharetta
  • Barrow/Walton County
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • Midtown
  • Norcross
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
VIEW MORE »

Services

  • Aerial or Bucket Truck
  • Ceiling Fan Installation
  • Code Violation Repair
  • Design & Planning
  • Electrical Upgrades
  • Emergency Service
  • Equipment Rentals
  • General Electrical Service
  • Holiday Lighting
  • Home Automation
  • Home Theater
  • Inspections & Testing
  • Insurance Claims
  • New Wiring
  • Pole Setting
  • Repair
  • Replacement
  • Rewiring

Jobs

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Garage Openers
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Lighting & Minor Electrical

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012, 2014

Credentials

Non-restricted Electrical- Call for verification or go to state verification website under Jan J. Rossouw.

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 7:00am
  • 11:45pm
  • TUE
  • 7:00am
  • 11:45pm
  • WED
  • 7:00am
  • 11:45pm
  • THU
  • 7:00am
  • 11:45pm
  • FRI
  • 7:00am
  • 11:45pm
  • SAT
  • 7:00am
  • 11:45pm
  • SUN
  • 7:00am
  • 11:45pm

* 24-Hour Service Available

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Cash Only
  • Discover
  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Documents

[PDF] Kalahari Electrical Services Safety Guides

Green Credentials

Kalahari Electrical Services offers a variety of energy saving services that are both affordable and cost-effective. Call us today!

Languages Spoken

  • English

Reviews

View More »

Efficient Service, 4/27/2015

I called Kalahari to give me a second opinion on an outrageous quote I received from a major electrician chain. They came out and gave me a much more reasonable price, and did the work that the... other company wanted to charge an arm and a leg for. I'll definitely give them a call for future projects.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Outstanding Job!, 4/16/2015

They did an EXCELLENT job! We had ugly, old looking, gigantic bath bars with huge energy sucking bulbs in all bathrooms. In addition, the builder did a messy installation leaving behind a potential... electrical hazard. We needed also power connection from attic to the ceiling fan location, fan installation and power repair in outside storage. We asked three companies for estimate. One was too high and the second one was so unbelievable low that we were afraid we will get what we paid for. Kalahari Electrical Services' price was in the middle but their estimate wasn’t the only one reason we hired them to do the job. Unlike the other two companies, Jan from Kalahari Electrical was the only one who said that we can buy whatever wall sconces we like and the rest is their job. And they did a really, really good job! Jan and his assistant Gideon were prompt with the appointment, they worked tirelessly for hours, fixed all builders’ errors, and installed everything according the codes. They are extremely knowledgeable, intelligent and trustworthy professionals. Jan thoroughly explains everything he needs to do in a very reliable manner. We highly recommend Kalahari Electrical Services and we will definitely use them in the future.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Videos & Photos

View all »

Video (1 video)

  • 2 2

Photos (9 photos)

  • Kalahari Electrical Services vans are fully equipped
  • Kalahari Electrical Services
  • Kalahari Electrical Services
  • Kalahari Electrical Services
  • Kalahari Electrical Services
  • Kalahari Electrical Services
  • Kalahari Electrical Services


Kalahari Electrical Services vans are fully equipped

Linked Review

Sablearm

Reviews: 2

They do good work

I trust these people to do the right thing. Had some work done by another electrician that they had to undo. They gave me the right advice and didn't try to add on to increase the cost like the other guy did.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO


More Reviews

ATL30305

Reviews: 5

Seriously great!

We hired Kalahari to fix various electrical problems in our home. I was very impressed with the service we received. The guys that came our were courteous and efficient. They got to work right away and fixed about 6-8 (minor) issues we had in the house in about 2 hours! I feel relieved that I found an electrical company that I completely trust. I would definitely hire and recommend them in the future!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

onamission

Reviews: 1

Above & Beyond!!

I purchased a new flat screen and wanted it installed on a wall in my family room. Joe and Houston came out and I told them what I wanted and how particular I am with things being centered and well balanced in a room. Joe ran 2 HDMI cables for me with no damage to my wall and even got my satellite company on the phone to set up HD service. WOW!They did a remarkable job, absolutely satisfied with the placement of the TV and the extra care that they took in keeping things clean. Great job guys, I will definitely use you all in the future.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

MShane

Reviews: 2

Didn't show up - twice

I'm glad that so many others had great things to say about this business. It's the reason that I called them. Unfortunately, my experience was not good. I made an appointment, my wife waited at the house, and nobody showed up. I called them back, and the person I spoke with was very apologetic. Anybody can make a mistake, so I set-up a new appointment. Nobody came the second time either. It's not easy to find time during the week to meet a technician, and now we’ll have to do it a third time (with a different company).

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Kbrock

Reviews: 1

Great Customer Service

I called Joe the owner,he was very professional and polite. Saturday,I had no heat. Joe told me how much the disconnect box cost and how much the service call would be. I really appreciate their honest, best customer service and quick response. I would recommend this company to anyone who needs a electrican.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

melodyindecatur

Reviews: 2

Great and fast service

I manage my condo from out of town, and Joe was flexible, quick and kind to set up an appointment with me on short notice. He fixed my broken outlet, checked others in my place to make sure they were all in good order, and was pleasant throughout. It feels good to know that I have a good electrician to turn to again in the future!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

atlreturnee

Reviews: 1

Would not recommend

Quite frankly, I’ve given up on Kalahari Electrical. They did some work for us in December (12-02-2010). Basically, we had them fix a couple of bedroom light fixtures and a dining room light switch that was literally falling apart. The repair work was fine (with one exception) and the price was $145, which I though was fairly reasonable. The main problem and the reason I cannot recommend them, is that they do not return calls (whether voice mail or messages left with a person). I’m not sure what the issue is but it took almost two weeks to simply schedule the original appointment. A few days after the repairs, one of the light fixtures, simply stopped working. I called and left a voice mail and then (after a day or so) called again and managed to catch Joe. He was on a job but promised to call me back later that day. Anyway, as you can probably guess, no call. I just wish they had the basic courtesy to communicate with their customers. It’s a shame because we have an older house and are going to need some extensive electrical upgrades in the near future.

Kalahari Electrical Services replied on 01-20-2011

I am very sorry this was your experience with Kalahari Electrical Services.I want to fix this if at all possible.This is not the way we normally conduct business,this was just before Christmas when I received the call and totally forgot about it.I will fix any problem free of charge and offer a 50% refund on your bill for the services rendered,to make up for the inconvenience.I apologize for the bad communication.Joe Cloer (Kalahari Electrical Services)

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

NewcombHouse

Reviews: 13

Minor electrical issue

Joe came out to assess outlets that was not working that was reported by tenant. He quickly assessed situation and repaired with no issues. Price was fair...

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

teddyf

Reviews: 3

Satisfied.

After a poor experience with another electrician, it was good to find someone who would stand behind their work. There was some initial miscommunication between partner/owners(?) at Kalahari regarding how much they would charge to fix the problem. We resolved it and I'm generally satisfied with the work.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Haupville4

Reviews: 1

The Best Sevice by far in Atlanta.

I have used the services of Kalahari Electrical many times over the last three years and was very satisfied with the level of service and the quality of there work.They are allways very friendly and extremely helpfull.The latest job was the total wiring of my woodwork shop in back yard.GREAT WORK guys!!I will continue to use this service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

mluv20

Reviews: 4

Improper Wiring

I will start by giving a disclaimer in saying that initially I was satisfied with the work performed. My only reason for writing this review is b/c I feel it would be irresponsible for me not to share my experience. Joe did a complete rewiring of a home for me in July 2009. Last week the power went out at the house and I called Georgia Power who discovered that the main feed line in the meter box had burned straight though and told me that an improper splice had been made with a copper connection (which corrodes aluminum wire) and that was the cause. As per Georgia Power this one mistake could have potentially caused a fire. I did speak to Joe who offered to replace the burnt wires at cost; however, I chose to pay more and go with a different company.

Kalahari Electrical Services replied on 10-18-2010

I am very sorry about your experience with us,but as I mentioned on my companies visit to your property,that the splice you are referring to is typical of what Power companies like Georgia Power install.We do not have a tool to do an inline splice in a service cable nor do we have access to that kind of splice.My honest oppinion about what happened here was that the splice was done by a third party after our installation.I still offered to replace the whole service cable at cost.We have never installed any splices in any service cables ever,and never will even though by code it is now legal to do.Joe Cloer,Kalahari Electrical Services.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Jonnymooch

Reviews: 1

Amazing Service

I used Kudzu to find an electrican to upgrade our control panel. They did a good job, so I asked for an estimate on putting in recessed lighting. I thought their quote was high, so I came back to Kudzu to get some more estimates. I contacted Kalahari and spoke with Joe. I was impressed by his experience and knowledge and he gave me a fair estimate, so I didn't go any further. He said he was able to do it on Friday, but I wanted to be there. He offered to come early (6:30am) on Saturday and bring his whole crew (I had to go to work by noon and needed them done by then). We live in Peachtree City, and he came from outside Athens. I was impressed that he got to our place by 6:45 and his crew was there at 6:30. They were able to put the lights in with no damage to the existing ceiling. I actually had them put in more lights and fan boxes for our porch since they did such a great job. Joe and his crew were fast and effecient and very courteous. They even did some minor electrical jobs without charging. (Now that's customer service). I had to have Joe come back to reinforce the fan boxes and he did so right away and without hesitation. I will definitely be using Joe again and I highly recommend Joe and his crew.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

NicciR

Reviews: 3

Fast response time & great customer service

Around midnight on a Saturday, our lights in half the house dimmed about 50% and both AC units stopped working. We were leaving for a vacation in 9 hours and this was awful timing. After realizing it was not an AC issue and it was electrical, we searched on Kudzu for someone who worked on Sundays with high ratings. I called Kalahari at 7am on Sunday and Jan returned my call in minutes. We also called GA Power just in case it was related to their service. While on the phone with Jan, he helped guide us through diagnosing the problem. We were still not sure what was wrong, and since we were leaving to vacation that morning, Jan said he would send someone out in the next hour. About 10 minutes later GA Power arrived and we learned there was an underground break to one of our power lines and they had to fix it. I immediately called Jan back who said the electrician was about 45 minutes away and he would cancel it. Jan was very kind and helpful through the entire process. In the future, Kalahari is the company I will call and recommend when needed an electrician.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

CarmenCollins

Reviews: 2

Super Easy

This was a flawless execution. I found these guys here, on Kudzu, called and made an appt for the next day. I had a wish list of repairs/installs, and almost all of what I needed from Home Depot (bathroom exhaust fan, dimmer switches, etc.). These guys showed up on time, assessed what I would need, approx how long it would take, and went to Home Depot themselves to get what I didn't know to get. They charged by the hour, but didn't start the clock until they came back with all the correct supplies. There were two of them, so they split up, took on my wish list, and finished everything very quickly. They cleaned up before they left and even changed a flood light bulb that was way out of range for my step ladder. My only regret is related to how long I waited before actually calling someone.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

soccerbetty

Reviews: 5

Fantastic customer service

When our 72 year old house had electrical problems, Joe came out on short notice and quickly determined a number of wiring issues that past electricians had missed. He made sure to educate us with every step, discussing the needed safety improvements and optional measures that we could take for fixing our problems. The quality of his crew's work was outstanding and they were very courteous and did a great job with cleanup too. I will definitely be using this company again!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

audiofan

Reviews: 7

Wow... phone advice with no pressure!

I just got off the phone with Kalahari after calling to discuss a breaker problem. The person listened to my problem, asked a question or two and made a diagnosis. To prove it he had me flip a couple of the switches in a certain order while predicting the consequences and sure enough, he was right! I then asked him what to do to repair this. With no hesitation, he told me what to do. When I expressed a slight concern and asked him what it would cost to have him do it, he quoted me a very fair price. No pressure at all, and I do believe he has a new customer, although one who hasn't hired him yet! Thank you!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Videos

Photos

Album: Generic
1 of 9




Kalahari Electrical Services vans are fully equipped