Kudzu Category Sponsors

Atlanta Sod Company

4 star rating 91 Reviews

(770) 648-6004 Call

Write a Review

Atlanta, GA 30305

Kudzu - Best Of Winner

Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2017 - Kudzu.com Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2017 - Kudzu.com

Reviews

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  Tjlfour

    Reviews: 1

    Installation was excellent
    Tjlfour (1 review)
    5/18/2018

    Vicne and his crew were on time, professional and cleaned everything up. Vince reviewed what we need to do to get the sod established. It is a very good start.

    More »

    Project Details

    New sod in backyard

    Area Alpharetta, GA

    Cost $3,000 - $4,999

    Date May 2018

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  Redwolf93

    Reviews: 1

    Matt
    Redwolf93 (1 review)
    5/14/2018

    Vince and his crew did a great job with backyard sod installation - showed up on time and cleaned up everything nicely. I would highly recommend Atlanta Sod and in particular Vince was very professional and did great job explaining everything.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Acworth, GA

    Cost $1,000 - $2,999

    Date May 2018

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  Batwade

    Reviews: 1

    Great sod company
    Batwade (1 review)
    5/10/2018

    Atlanta sod company did a fantastic job with our new lawn. They showed up on time and did a great job. Vince, Jay and crew were efficient and hard working. Had a few little trim ups to do and Brandon was very helpful getting those done. Thanks so much.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Cost $1,000 - $2,999

    Date May 2018

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  jam

    Reviews: 3

    So glad we chose ATLSod for our backyard re-do!
    jam (3 reviews)
    5/10/2018

    We have lived in our house for 30+ years and basically the backyard has washed away. Enter Brandon McDonald and crew! They shoveled, leveled and rolled a load of dirt creating an upper and lower yard with beautiful green fescue sod. Brandon explained every step to us and was receptive to our questions, emails and texts. Throughout this process from receiving the quote from Larry to follow up with Brandon, it is obvious that ATL Sod strives to give the best customer service. Thanks Brandon and crew for a beautiful backyard and a job well done! rvm & jam

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Dunwoody, GA

    Cost $3,000 - $4,999

    Date April 2018

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  bittnertimothy

    Reviews: 1

    Sod dead in 2 years
    bittnertimothy (1 review)
    5/08/2018

    Per terms & conditions. Atlanta Sod Co. "does not guarantee suitability, survival or performance". The "shade tolerant" Zeon Zoysia grass installed 2016 died by 2018. Maintenance Company feels bad that I was sold defective grass, and will put down fescue for free. The best Eric Vevang with Atlanta Sod Co. offered was a discount on more grass; however I am required to first remove multiple large oak trees, which is not an option. If my lawn had too much shade, a sod expert should not have installed.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Roswell, GA

    Cost $3,000 - $4,999

    Date February 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

    Atlanta Sod Company replied on 5/09/2018

    I have personally spoken with Tim and sent our managers out there a few times. It is unfortunate that the grass did not do well under the trees. In the original quotation process we discussed that the chances of survival would have been way better if the trees were removed but he opted not to. That being said we have made a great offer to resod the property at a "cost only" installation but we would require the trees to be removed prior to installation. The offer still stands Tim if you end up deciding to get the trees down.

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  jsaszm

    Reviews: 2

    Very Dissapointed
    jsaszm (2 reviews)
    4/20/2018

    I used Atlanta Sod Company last year to have my back yard sod with Empire Zoysia. I had someone come out to give me a consultation since my yard had a lot of shade and needed a shade tolerant grass. They did the job for 2600.00 and I used All Turf to treat the yard as they recommended. The service was done in April and the lawn was beautiful all summer and was still thick when it went dormant for the winter. As the winter progressed I kept seeing more bald spots. The brown lawn was just drying up and breaking off. This year I have no grass whatsoever. I reached out to the company and sent them pictures asking for advice going forward and the email response was that they understand my frustration and hopefully after I have some trees removed the yard will look better. I would not recommend this company to anyone. Very dissappointed.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Tucker, GA

    Cost $1,000 - $2,999

    Date April 2017

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

    Atlanta Sod Company replied on 4/20/2018

    Hello Janice,

    I am the owner and wanted to respond to this situation personally. I am very sorry for what happened to your backyard. I also appreciate the pictures to show the yard after the installation. What you experienced can happen in this industry and is the reason why sod is a much requested product in the Atlanta area. Beautiful yards can catch fungus's, experience winter kill, and many other things that will wipe out some of the yard or even the entire thing without much warning. It is very important when installing sod to consider the risk associated with it. No company can guarantee the survivability of grass on going once it is established. As you can see we brought you a great sod, did a great job installing it and left you with all the tools to maintain it. There was and is nothing we can do to keep it going. That all being said we have been in business for almost 10 years because we do care about our customers and we are willing to offer discounted replacements when a rare situation like this happens. Please feel free to contact me directly at atlantasodco@gmail.com to talk about solutions.

    Thank you,

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  credwine

    Reviews: 1

    Lawn of the month!!
    credwine (1 review)
    10/26/2017

    Atlanta Sod did a fantastic job from the assessment of our yard to the diligent installation in very inclement weather to the final product ... a lawn worthy of Lawn of the Month! The zoysia sod was extremely fresh and looked fantastic within a few days. Everyone was extremely courteous and respectful of our home and yard. I would definitely recommend them over and over again.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Cost $5,000 - $9,999

    Date April 2017

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  Permit

    Reviews: 2

    Amazing transformation
    Permit (2 reviews)
    9/08/2017

    We had already used Atlanta sod to install the main portion of our yard while we finished clearing and grading the back and sides. The original install has fully grown in and looks great. With a simple phone call we got Keegan to come back out and give us a quote on the remaining portion of the yard. The quote was fair and we knew what to expect. They were incredibly patient and not pushy at all while we figured out when the right time would be to get the rest finished. Once we made up our mind and gave them a call, they were back out in a few days to confirm the full scope of the project and get the details of the installion scheduled. Two weeks later, they showed up as promised and laid 8 pallets of sod in just 6 hours. They did a thorough job and I am pleased to report that they lawn is thriving. It is hard to believe that they make it that easy and that the work they do can have such a huge immediate impact. Great work (for the second time).

    More »

    Project Details

    Side and back yard sod installation

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Date July 2017

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  Royce12

    Reviews: 1

    Excellent work
    Royce12 (1 review)
    9/07/2017

    Atlanta Sod installed 8,000 sq-ft of Zorro Zoysia Sod at my house. The workmen were all courteous and did a great job! The grass sod is of excellent quality. With the recent rains, the grass is growing beautifully. I definitely recommend this company.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Alpharetta, GA

    Cost $5,000 - $9,999

    Date August 2017

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  acd1976

    Reviews: 1

    outstanding service
    acd1976 (1 review)
    9/06/2017

    All the folks at Atlanta Sod were A+++ to do bizz with. Great pricing. Excellent project coordination, prep and installation from start to finish and clean up. Plenty of detailed instruction provided for care and maintenance and referral to a treatment company for long term care and fertilization / weed prevention. Installed the Tiff Tuff. 8 weeks later yard looks like August National. Using a manual reel mower to cut as instructed. Defiantly makes a difference in not damaging grass with a traditional rotary blade mower that really just rips grass to shreds.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  Bthomas0611

    Reviews: 1

    Great turf, great price
    Bthomas0611 (1 review)
    9/03/2017

    Atlanta sod came out to my home to install 5 pallets of zoysia. Their crew was punctual and professional, and they do great work. Yard looks 100 times better.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Woodstock, GA

    Cost $1,000 - $2,999

    Date August 2017

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  bjsweeney

    Reviews: 2

    Extremely disappointed with Atlanta Sod
    bjsweeney (2 reviews)
    7/09/2017

    Had 8 pallets of zoysia installed in spring 2016. This was half my yard with intent of installing rest of yard this spring (2017). Bottom line was 4 of the 8 pallets are completely gone (no grass at all) and the other 4 are holding on- however still not green. Atlanta Sod would not take responsibility and blamed it on grubs. Worst part is I used the company they recommended to treat the Sod after installation and when they came out- of course they blamed it on Atlanta Sod. Come to find out these two companies no longer work with each other and blamed each other. The bottom line is I'm out 8 pallets ($$$$) and the funny part is the part of my yard I had planned to do this spring is doing great. I would have expected the company I paid thousands of dollars to make this right but they won't take responsibility.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Alpharetta, GA

    Cost $3,000 - $4,999

    Date April 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

    Atlanta Sod Company replied on 7/10/2017

    Mr. Sweeney,

    I am sorry about your experience with our company and the end results of your sod. Grubs & Army Worms are our number one culprits when laying sod. It is something that is entirely out of our control and we do go to great lengths establishing proper expectations during the hiring process. In case this wasn't offered to you already, we do have a "Cost Only Replacement Plan" available. What we do is come out and measure the area that is dead or not desirable and give you a quote on replacing that area at our cost only. This would put this project considerably less than if you were to redo it and we operate with $0 profit margin. If this is something you are interested in please email me personally at atlantasodco@gmail.com.

    Eric - owner

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  Milesperhour

    Reviews: 1

    TBD
    Milesperhour (1 review)
    6/01/2017

    This review is being updated since I cannot delete the previous review. More information will be included as the situation is resolved.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Cost $5,000 - $9,999

    Date April 2017

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  jsiegel

    Reviews: 1

    Good quality sod! - updated
    jsiegel (1 review)
    8/01/2016

    Atlanta Sod Company came out and measured my yard and provided a quote to sod my back yard and side yard. Based on the measurements, I scheduled installation for 4 pallets of sod. The morning of installation, I was happy to see such great looking sod lined up on the street waiting for installation. The crew was friendly and fast. Before I knew it, the sod was installed...however, I was short a lot of sod. I needed an extra pallet of sod. I don't know how the measurement was that far off, but I was able to schedule the installation of another pallet of sod the next week. The final pallet of sod installation came at a time when I was not home. The sod looked just about as good when I got home from work, but as I've noticed over the past weeks since installation, it wasn't put down as tightly together as the first installation. The result is a lot of weeds popping up all over the place in addition to bermuda grass (old grass before new zoysia) coming through the seams in the zoysia sod pieces. Not sure what can be done now with the gaps in between my sod. If you use this company, ensure their measurements and quotes are accurate and ensure the installation is up to your expectations. I would use this company again, but would be there for both installations.  --Update-- Atlanta sod came out today to replace a few areas of grass. I am happy that they responded so quickly and offered to replace a few pieces. Thank you!

    More »

    Project Details

    Atlanta Sod Company installed zeon zoysia sod in our back yard and side yard (5 pallets total).

    Area Roswell, GA

    Cost $1,000 - $2,999

    Date June 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (1)

    Atlanta Sod Company replied on 8/01/2016

    Thank you for your review! When we measure for projects we are very cautious to make sure we don't over measure. Many clients have expressed their frustrations when we had extra sod after the job was done and in some cases have even asked for partial refunds. Sod comes in whole pallets and obtaining partials is not realistic. Therefor this puts us in a constant worry of having either too much or not enough. We are very transparent with our policy on this as stated in all of our bids we simply charge the same per unit price for any material that is needed beyond the original installation. This ensures our client is not charged a dime more than what it would of been originally. Looking at your particular case we actually gave you a significant discount on the extra pallet of sod installed a week later. To address the pallet installed later please send me a few pictures of your concerns and I can give you some great advice or solutions. atlantasodco@gmail.com
    Thank you!
    -Owner

  • Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA -  jpwolfe

    Reviews: 6

    Had High Hopes
    jpwolfe (6 reviews)
    6/27/2016

    First I want to say that I had high hopes for Atlanta Sod Company, I researched thoroughly, and felt like I had done my due diligence regarding my Zeon Zoysia sod project. I read the reviews and read about their install procedures (til, rake, roll, level low spots, install, and roll) so I felt like I had a good handle on what they were all about. The first red flag should have been that the sod came in from several hundred miles away on a steamy hot day in the evening (after 6:00 PM) for a Saturday install. It came on a flat bed truck, as it all does, but was not covered so it sat out in the Georgia sun, in Atlanta traffic getting burnt and dried out. No telling when it was cut. I was concerned but the install crew said it shouldn't be a problem so I allowed them to install it (hindsight should have been to reject the load). The next red flag came in on install day the next morning. The crew was nice enough but during the install, they left off the step to roll the dirt after it had been tilled before installing the sod (to smooth out high/low spots). So basically they installed over softly tilled/raked dirt. This is a huge problem because the yard is now lumpy and will undoubtedly require some kind of leveling to get it where it should have been on day one. Last but not least, the sod quality is something hard to describe. I think they combined some Jamur Zoysia somehow in certain spots and the consistency from piece to piece was terrible.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Smyrna, GA

    Cost $1,000 - $2,999

    Date May 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

    Atlanta Sod Company replied on 6/27/2016

    We have tried to contact this client several times since he left this review, even having my sales manager go by the project recently to look it over. I have yet to get a return phone call or response after several atempts to reach out. Since day one of the installation we were not aware of any problems nor were we contacted with any questions, comments, or concerns. This is troubling to me as we now have a bad review and the client gave us no opportunity to address this. I take customer satisfaction very seriously and would like to address the problem. My sales manager when visiting the property recently found the yard in pretty good shape only needing a little bit more time now that the hot weather is here to look optimum. To address the comment about the sod and not knowing when it was cut. I can assure you that all of our sod is delivered fresh within hours of harvesting. I was hoping that said client would contact us about these issues so that we can resolve them but I have just seen his response on another review platform that he is not interested in speaking with us. I find that unfortunate but also appreciate two stars instead of one. My offer to bring some repair sod pieces for no cost remains if the client is interested. Thank you! - Owner


Business details

Maintenance

  • Custom Work
  • Disease Treatment
  • Fertilization
  • General Landscaping
  • Installation
  • Lawn Care
  • Removal Work
  • Sodding
  • Spraying
  • Storm Water Management

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Barrow/Walton County
  • Bartow/Pickens County
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Carroll/Coweta County
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Clayton/Fayette County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Covington
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas/Paulding County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fayetteville
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Henry/Spalding County
  • Jonesboro
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • McDonough
  • Midtown
  • Newnan
  • Newton/Rockdale County
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stockbridge
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • Union City
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Equipment & Supplies

  • General Equipment & Supplies
  • Heavy Equipment
  • Power Tools
  • Rentals
  • Sod Rollers
  • Tillers

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2014 - Kudzu.com Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2015 - Kudzu.com Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2016 - Kudzu.com Atlanta Sod Company - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2017 - Kudzu.com

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • TUE
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • WED
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • FRI
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

* 24-Hour Service Available

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Cash Only
  • Debit Card
  • Discover
  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

2009

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Photos

Album: Finished Projects
1 of 4