Kudzu Category Sponsors

Decksouth, Inc.

5 star rating 78 Reviews

(678) 373-4734 Call

Write a Review

350 Brady PlAlpharetta, GA 30009

Kudzu - Best Of Winner

Reviews

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA - Sarah S.

    Sarah S.

    We were so pleased with
    Sarah S. (Posted to GuildQuality)
    3/12/2018

    We were so pleased with DeckSouth's work and it was so easy to work with John and Shane. We have done a lot of home projects with other companies and they were the easiest to work with. They not only came up with a design that exceeded our expectations but were very honest and set the clear expectations from the beginning. We couldn't be happier with the end result!

    More »
  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA - James S.

    James S.

    We could not be happier
    James S. (Posted to GuildQuality)
    3/12/2018

    We could not be happier with our gorgeous new deck and pergola. Decksouth is a quality company in every aspect of their work. The design is beautiful and their skillful workers are really perfectionists when it come to the quality of the construction. Communication was great throughout the process, we always knew who to expect and when. We highly recommend them to anyone who values quality workmanship and wants to add value to their home.

    More »
  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA - James S.

    James S.

    4-1/2 stars!Bottom line, we are
    James S. (Posted to GuildQuality)
    2/27/2018

    4-1/2 stars!Bottom line, we are pleased with the result and it was a fair cost. I trust DeckSouth will honor their commitment to stand behind their work. And that is important.It was a large project, so I had gotten 6 quotations altogether and I think things would not have gone as smoothly with most of the others. I recommend taking the time in selecting a contractor for large projects. I took some months before pulling the trigger.Willingness to tailor the design to my wishes. The salesman Lamar was very patient in finding ways to make it work.DeckSouth adopted an exclusive option of hidden angled gussets to eliminate the need for ugly cross braces. This resulted in a bolder cleaner look.Quickly took ownership of reported flaws, blemishes, inconsistencies, etc., and there weren't too many anyway.Knowledge and confidence about getting permits, knowing what would be allowed by inspectors, explaining to me, avoiding disappointing surprises, etc.Having high design standards that provided extra margin of safety, such as deeper and wider column foundations.Being reasonable and honorable throughout the project.Willing to fulfill my request to frame out a double doorway at deck level, and move an existing upstairs double door to the lower level at the deck for a reasonable price.Original quote was in line with others who showed less experience and were less willing to accommodate , and there were minimal surprise increases.Had to pay extra to get floor in sunroom flush with adjoining floor in house, even though we had communicated that requirement up front. Required an extra layer of OSB floor board to make up for a level mismatch before laying tile. A minor issue in the big picture, but I'm glad I spotted it and spoke up before the tile was laid.Unfortunately the HVAC contractor's workmanship was below par, as there were repeat water drain line problems that required my inspection and DeckSouth had to repair some water damage. After repairs, I inspected and spot

    More »
  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  MLBDolie

    Reviews: 1

    Better than I could've ever dreamed
    MLBDolie (1 review)
    8/15/2015

    When we decided to replace our builder-grade wood deck on our nine-year-old home, we knew that we wanted to use a composite decking product instead of real wood. After doing a good bit of research, we settled on Trex and their Transcend decking product. When I went to their website to search for local deck builders who use Trex products, Decksouth was among the first to come up. As a Trex Pro Platinum builder, I knew that we would be dealing with a quality company that could build an amazing new deck, but Decksouth exceeded every expectation we had. John and Shane did such a wonderful job on our new deck. They were friendly to deal with, helpful in explaining things, and all of their employees and subcontractors who worked on the deck were also extremely pleasant to deal with and did an impeccable job of cleaning up afterwards. Decksouth's prices were reasonable, too, and I feel like we got great value on our deck project. We could not be more thrilled with our new Trex Transcend deck, and we have received so many compliments on it already from our friends and neighbors. A Trex low-maintenance deck truly is the envy of your neighborhood, so if you live in the metro Atlanta area, I couldn't urge you enough to use Decksouth for your deck project.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  cmalcolm1

    Reviews: 4

    Fantastic Experience !!
    cmalcolm1 (4 reviews)
    5/03/2015

    We just finished a porch/deck project with Decksouth and couldn't be happier. They are very professional from the initial meeting/quote to the project leader and all crew members. We were kept updated on all details and progress and questions were answered quickly and thoroughly. We've already had many compliments on the project and would definitely recommend Decksouth to anyone considering doing a deck or porch project. We will definitely work with DeckSouth on any future projects as well.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  The_Moores

    Reviews: 3

    Fantastic Decks!
    The_Moores (3 reviews)
    1/07/2015

    When we moved into our house my wife joked that we should build a deck in the back yard. A few years after that we did it! After talking to many different companies, we found Decksouth to be the best. I would say that my wife and I tend to be very picky, and Decksouth was very good. They listened to us, helped up think of ideas and in the end built a deck that we are going to love for many years to come. I would highly recommend them to ANYONE in the area who needs a deck.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  prez47

    Reviews: 1

    Awesome experience!
    prez47 (1 review)
    10/12/2013

    We had an awesome experience! Our entire backyard was renovated to include a pool, new landscaping, removal of old deck and building of new one with dry ceiling for patio use underneath. John Lea and his crew were a bright spot in a our long and tedious renovation! The crew was respectful, clean, and hard working! We had to change the location of the steps from the old design and he came in with a new design, thinking of everything from how much room we would have at the bottom of the stairs until the pool started, to windows being blocked, etc... John even got married and was gone for 9 days during our project, but he arranged ahead of time for Shane to take care of us. Shane was as easy and on top of things as John! The deck is beautiful and changes the aesthetics of our entire backyard! Makes us want to fire up the grill on the top of the deck and relax under the fans beneath the deck! I wish all companies were as easy to work with! Plan on using them again for Bahama shutters around the pool in the near future!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  thekellys

    Reviews: 4

    Excellent Experience!
    thekellys (4 reviews)
    10/07/2013

    Beyond thrilled with our new deck! John Lea & his team were top notch! We now have a new living space outside which we LOVE. John and his team listened to our needs and not only met them but exceeded our expectations. The project was done on schedule and was effortless on our end. John's team was incredibly organized and the work space was always clean and in order. There is no question who I would recommend to build your next deck! Decksouth definitely lived up to its stellar reputation! Thanks John & team!!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  njmcfarland

    Reviews: 5

    If you want a deck with some personality..
    njmcfarland (5 reviews)
    10/07/2013

    Deck South built an amazing Trex deck for us that is all that we could have wanted it to be. It was no easy fix for our sloped yard, but John Lea was able to use his creativity to design a deck, that wrapped around our raised koi pond, that is 6 feet off the ground on one side and an easy 2 steps on the opposite side, to our wooded yard and garden pathways. He designed an equally beautiful paver walkway to transition from the deck to the gardens, because Deck South also does patios. The other contractors we spoke with limited their work to decks only with no help in blending the deck into the rest of your yard. The deck looks like it belongs in a magazine, but is nestled so comfortably in our yard John has a very creative mind and is also very familiar with his products and the elements of construction. He can design a deck with personality, not just a cookie cutter design. It all would not come together without his experienced crew, who do very high quality work and who can figure out how to make things work when issues come up. We even have an attractive, non skid built in dog ramp for our dachshunds. John will make suggestions on how to keep the costs under control and does not try to jack the price up. We are very happy we had John Lea, Deck South construct our outdoor space that we will enjoy for many years.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  righton

    Reviews: 4

    Experience was great!!!!
    righton (4 reviews)
    6/03/2013

    Amazing company. John is a pleasure to work with and would love to have him do more work for us in the future. This deck is truly my favorite place in the house.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  lp2811

    Reviews: 2

    Love my deck
    lp2811 (2 reviews)
    4/25/2013

    My new deck by Decksouth is exactly what I wanted. They came up with a great plan to extend my deck by four feet, reroute the stairs and add a corner landing where I can pause to enjoy my landscape. John's plan included creating a chevron pattern with the boards that really expands the deck visually. The quality of the construction is first rate. The wood and other components are top quality. I highly recommend Decksouth.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  elaine_s

    Reviews: 1

    Very Professional and Talented Team
    elaine_s (1 review)
    6/26/2012

    It was clear early on, that Decksouth was the right choice for my deck/screened porch project. Of all the companies, Mike was the only one that offered a gabled roof design for my 2 level screened porch. My team of carpenters stayed consistent throughout the project, and they worked long days to keep the momentum going. Mike and/or Joey (the Project Manager) stopped by frequently to check on progress and to fix small details. My project had a few tricky aspects, a large custom french door needed to be installed as well as a swing bed, both on the upper level. Neither one was a picnic to get "up there", and both took several iterations to get everything perfect. However,the entire crew worked diligently to meet and exceed my expectations. I love my new outdoor spaces, and rarely want to leave the house now!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  dmetter

    Reviews: 1

    Deck Extension for Hot Tub
    dmetter (1 review)
    5/23/2012

    My wife and I were extremely happy with our new deck extension. We got exactly what we described when DeckSouth came out for our consultation. The quality of work was exceptional and there was no mess when they left our house. There was real attention to detail. We will call DeckSouth the next time we need any deck work completed.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  DavidRoswell

    Reviews: 2

    Have recommended them to several friends.
    DavidRoswell (2 reviews)
    1/31/2012

    The overall finish product was exceptional. Very impressed with the crew and I would highly recommend them. They work with me on the design and look that I wanted to achieve.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA -  gap2caf

    Reviews: 8

    Worth every penny!
    gap2caf (8 reviews)
    1/28/2012

    DeckSouth was professional, accurate, thorough and great to work with. We obtained bids from four contractors and while DeckSouth was not the least expensive their work was worth the investment.We went with a kiln dried pine which they stained at completion, added lights (this looks so nice!) and rebuilt a small screened in porch. John had Alex as our crew lead and he was wonderful! They handled every step of the process including inspections, stain & electrical. Their work was extremely precise (I was amazed at how much effort they put into every measurement to ensure accuracy) and we were thrilled with the results. No issues at all and that is rare these days in the construction industry.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)


Business details

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Cobb County
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Marietta
  • Midtown
  • Norcross
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA - Best Of 2012 - Kudzu.com Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA - Best Of 2013 - Kudzu.com Decksouth, Inc. - Alpharetta, GA - Best Of 2015 - Kudzu.com

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • TUE
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • WED
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • FRI
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

Photos

Patio
5 photos
Screen Porches
8 photos
Decks
10 photos
Album: Patio
1 of 5